It has been four months since my last post, and I think part of the reason, is I have been waiting for the perfect moment to spill my thoughts and feelings about my first semester as a Cowboy.  So, here I go.

A year ago, I had plans. Plans soon to be changed as scholarships and ACT scores were not what I expected.  Two months ago, I was still slightly mad at myself for not working hard enough to be able to attend my dream school.  Today, I know I did, in fact, work hard, and I am so beyond blessed with how it all turned out.  I have an amazing roommate.  I have made amazing friends who I can laugh with, cry with, and, of course, sit in the corner of the dining hall with. No judgement.  I have also joined a campus ministry and I have an amazing job! Now, while all of the friends, work, and sporting events add to the overall excitement of being in college, I am there to study.  I am there to learn and gain an education that will later launch me into whatever I decide to do with the rest of my life.  So, I think it is necessary to share a list of some things I have learned this past semester. (These are in no particular order.)

  1. There are quantum numbers assigned to electrons.
  2. Transcription produces the mRNA and translation produces the amino acids to create the polypeptide.
  3. Starbucks is easily walking distance from campus.
  4. Great friends are easily made from being in a biology group together.
  5. 28 degrees on the Laramie weather report does not include wind chill. BUNDLE UP!
  6. Writing in my honors book is okay, I will be okay, it does not need to be perfect handwriting, I will be okay, I did not ruin the book, no one is going to be mad at me, and it helps with the discussion.
  7. Relationships, of any kind, will be made, broken, some will simply fade away, and each of them is a learning experience.
  8. I can glorify God through my education.
  9. Sometimes, taking the tunnels to the dining hall is not as convenient as walking outside in the cold.
  10. The roads to Laramie will close if it is dangerous, and it is possible the only way in is going back down to Fort Collins.
  11. Receiving letters in the mail makes for a GREAT day.
  12. This is not high school, do not try to convince me they are alike, they aren’t.
  13. The biggest challenge is fitting meals into my schedule.
  14. Unless she is absolutely, crazy busy, mom will answer the phone and do the best she can to be there for me.
  15. I do not want to be a kinesiology major anymore.
  16. It is an amazing feeling when college finally feels like home.
  17. I can go through college without caffeine.
  18. It is okay to wear sweats to class, I do not have to be dressed to impress wherever I go.
  19. While in the sandwich line, asking for mayonnaise is the last thing to be asked for.
  20. Basketball games will forever and always be exciting for me.
  21. Getting up at 6AM for cycling sucks…but the chocolate milk afterwards does not.
  22. College chemistry is not the same as my high school chemistry, despite the IB test.
  23. A “C” on my first college paper is not the end of the world, it just means I have room to grow and get to know my teacher more as I continue to ask for help.
  24. God loves me. A LOT!

Last but not least…

25. I am not the only one going through this huge change. I am not the first to go through this.  I am not the last to go through this. I still have a lot to learn…I am not finished, I still have seven more semesters to go.

IMG_2590God knows where He needs me to be.  

To all of the freshmen who finished their first semester, to everyone on their way to get their degree, whether you are a sophomore or a senior…WE CAN DO THIS. And as always, Jesus loves us and…GO POKES.

 

 

