Picture Credit - Colleen Briggs
Photo Credit – Colleen Briggs

“You are all together beautiful, my darling, beautiful in every way.” Song of Songs 4:7

These days, unfortunately, when people think about beauty and what is beautiful, things like magazines and the latest fashions come to mind. I admit that when I am wondering what I should do in order to be beautiful, I consult my local Pinterest account, or I have watched YouTube tutorials in order to perfect a hair-do.  While those may be useful tools, I should be using and consulting my Bible to see that God has made me beautiful in His image. I am fearfully and wonderfully made. (Psalm 139:14)  It is not always easy.  I remember for Prom season a few weeks ago, I was more worried about my hair and what I should do for a dress rather than what the dance was going to look like or how much fun I was going to have.  The thing is, is that no matter what I was going to look like for Prom, God saw me, and still see’s me as beautiful, which for right now is all I need to keep reminding myself of.  A few days ago I did not wear make-up all day.  I was nervous at first because it has been a routine and I was scared that people would look at me funny or ask why I looked different.  I did it because I felt like that night before God was saying I have a challenge for you.  I DO NOT REGRET THE DECISION I MADE.  While it was tempting to do my normal morning routine, because I had friends over and they were doing theirs, I knew that I wanted to see if anyone would do anything. To my surprise, no one said anything or looked and stared at me for longer periods of time.  It was as if people did not notice.  When now  I realize, looking back, that I am beautiful the way God made me.  Will it be hard sometimes to remember that? Yes, because I am human and I am in no way shape or form perfect.  However, it will  become easier as I begin to do simple things like that. Like no make-up for a day or two, or not caring what I put on in the morning before I go in public.  There is a line between lazy and not dressing to impress.  God makes beautiful things.  For those of you reading this here are some other versus about what the Bible says about beauty. Enjoy!

“Don’t be concerned about the outward beauty of fancy hairstyles, expensive jewelry, or beautiful clothes. You should clothe yourself instead with the beauty that comes from within, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is so precious to God.” 1 Peter 3:3-4

“He has made everything beautiful in its time.” Ecclesiastes 3:11 

” For we are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them.” Ephesians 2:10

 

