Pinterest: Jennifer Visscher
Pinterest: Jennifer Visscher

I remember looking back to the beginning of the year, and that God had given me two words, faith and blessings.  For February and now March, I feel like my words are faith and IDENTITY.  Faith is still at the fore front, because things will happen that will make me look for those blessings, but they will also start to challenge my identity.  I think too often that these events will automatically change how others see me, thus altering my identity. There are two things wrong with this.  The first being that these events will only alter me if I allow them to.  The second being, that before I even begin to start pleasing others with who I am, I need to love myself unconditionally.  Yet, even before I learn to love myself wholly, I need to continually remind myself that I am loved unconditionally by The Man who sacrificed His life, so that I would not lose mine.  Because I am so dearly loved by Him, he becomes my identity.  I want people to look at me and see a girl who is in love with Jesus Christ, and who is loving life and living it to the fullest.  This past weekend I attended a church retreat with my best friend.  I still have that vivid memory of kneeling and worshiping and being angry for thinking that what has happened has made me this person that people are afraid to touch, or are afraid to talk to in fear of making their lives worse.  I also have the joyful memory of instantly being at peace and knowing that those events do not define who I am.  When I say instant, I mean instant.  I was mad one second and at peace the next.  I truly felt what it was like to have peace beyond understanding. It is something that I would hope and pray that everyone feels at one point.  I used to tell my story and be in tears out of fear that it would happen again, and that people would look at me differently.  Honestly, it is still hard, and sometimes I still find the need to fight back those tears, but because I know now that none of it is my identity, I am crying because it still hurts, but it is not who I am. I hope that makes sense.  I am strong, beautiful, intelligent, tall, compassionate, and a masterpiece of God’s work. I cry to let my emotions out, I put apple sauce on my pancakes, and I dislike feet.  I also do not like Chinese food or pickles on my sandwiches. My goal for this next week is to have a new fun fact about myself.  I guess I would encourage others to do the same.  This way you can show people that you are strong and are not letting the bad things get you down.  I have my quirks and my weaknesses, but I know one day God will use those for good and life will be even greater than it is now.  That my friends, is just part of what makes me, me.

 Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.

Philippians 4:6-7 (NLT). 

For we are God’s masterpiece. He has created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things he planned for us long ago.

Ephesians 2:10 (NLT)

