Photo taken by: Chance Agrella
Photo taken by: Chance Agrella

When I hear “and a little bit of pixie dust”, I think of the Disney Tinker Bell series and the “motto” , “Faith, Trust, and a little bit of pixie dust”. This saying could be interpreted in many ways, but the main thing that stands out to me is the faith.  I was baptized in April of 2013, and believe it or not, on that day something changed and I have been trying to keep my faith in Jesus the center of my life.  Faith to me means believing in something that you cannot see or believing in something that has yet to happen.  It reminds me of Hebrews 11:1 (NIV), “Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and being certain in what we do not see”.  I have my faith in Jesus, and he showed me this past Thanksgiving holiday how incredibly blessed I am.  My Uncle came for a visit, I managed to stay alive when running a 5K, and I was able to be with my family and enjoy the conversations and the laughs.  I am beginning to trust the plan that God has for me, but He has also placed amazing friends and relationships in my life where there is full trust.  Trust is a big part in how we determine who we tell and what we say.  Is it easy? Not always, but the joy of telling someone something to get it off your chest is a positive feeling, and hopefully in telling there is a gain in trust.  The pixie dust, for me, are the small things that make me smile.  This could be a hot meal for dinner, the peace and relaxation of watching snow fall on the ground in silence, the feeling of a hug to make the day better, or even watching a movie after a long stressful day.  All of these apply to me, and trust me when I say that they sure do make me smile.  I guess I will put it this way, faith gives me a peace of knowing that I have someone watching over me at all times, trust helps me to know I am loved, and the pixie dust are the small joys and when put together, the feeling I get is nothing like I have ever had before, the feeling of knowing that I am Kyra and I was made beautifully and wonderfully and I am completely content with that!

