Photo by: Sandra Trajkovska
Photo by: Sandra Trajkovska

There is a saying that is often used. “When life gives you lemons, make lemonade”. And although many of us have heard of this, many of us also come up with our own saying in order to match how we are feeling. Some may say, “When life gives you lemons, throw them back because you wanted apples instead”, “When life gives you lemons, you have to also ask for sugar and water first in order to make the lemonade”, for the inner rebels, “When life gives you lemons, make some orange juice, because who cares and I want to”. For me, I have been on this faith journey so my saying would be, “When life gives you lemons, praise God, free lemons!!” It all depends on how you perceive it. Perspective people, perspective!  Now, I know and understand that life is bigger than a couple of lemons, but if you look at something one way when it is small, then I believe that you are likely to look at something the same say as it continues to grow.  For example, if life gives you lemons and you are grateful, wouldn’t you also be grateful for something bigger like a new job, or even a new-found relationship (not necessarily dating).  It is finding joy in the small things.  If I had something to encourage you to do this week, it would be to do just that. Find joy in the small things, because God brings joy, and God is greater and mightier than all.  I have been blessed with many things and honestly I do not always find the joy, so I guess I will need to take this challenge and start seeing my world as many little blessings and watch as these blessings continue to grow.  What will your version of this somewhat famous saying be?  That my friends is up to you.

